By using the Send To command, you can quickly send a file to different locations including a floppy disk, your desktop, another person using e-mail, or the My Documents folder. The SendTo folder contains the shortcuts for the destinations that are displayed on the Send To menu. Every user on the computer has a SendTo folder and can customize its contents.
When you add new destinations to the SendTo folder, they appear on the Send To menu when you right-click a file, and then point the cursor Send To.
How to Use the Send To Command?
In Windows Explorer or My Computer--> right-click a file--> and then point to Send To. On the shortcut menu that appears--> click the destination where you want to send your file. The file is sent to or activated by the destination that you select.
Destinations on the Send To menu can include any of the following:
* Disk drives (local or network)
* Fax printers
* Printers* Windows-based programs
* Compressed (zipped) folders
* The desktop* Mail recipients
* The My Documents folder
By default, the Send To menu in Windows XP lists the following commands (destinations)
* Compressed (zipped) Folder
* Desktop (create shortcut)
* Mail Recipient* My Documents
* 3 1/2 Floppy (A:)
* CD Drive
Add a Destination to the Send To Menu:
To add a destination to the Send To menu, you must add a shortcut to the SendTo folder. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start--> and then click Run.
2. In the Open box--> type sendto--> and then click OK.
3. Add a destination by doing one of the following:
* Use the drag-and-drop operation to move the item that you want to the SendTo folder; to do so--> right-click--> and then click Create Shortcuts Here.
-or-
* Point to New on the File menu--> and then click Shortcut.
Follow the instructions in the Create Shortcut Wizard. A new shortcut is created in the SendTo folder, and it is displayed on the Send To menu.
To open the SendTo Folder, you can also perform the following steps:
1. Click Start--> and then click My Computer.
2. Double-click the drive where Windows is installed (usually drive C, unless you have more than one drive on your computer).
3. If you cannot view the items on your drive when you open it--> under System Tasks--> click Show the contents of this drive.
4. Double-click the Documents and Settings folder.
5. Double-click the folder of the user whose SendTo menu you want to change (usually your own).
6. Double-click the SendTo folder.
7. The SendTo folder is hidden by default. If the folder is not visible, on the Tools menu--> click Folder Options--> and then on the View tab--> click Show hidden files and folders.
Remove a Destination from the Send To Menu
To remove a destination from the Send To menu, do the following:
1. Click Start--> and then click Run.
2. In the Open box--> type sendto--> and then click OK.
3. Right-click the shortcut that you want to remove, and then click Delete. The shortcut is removed.
Microsoft created Windows XP in order to update the user interface, add new features, unify the code base between the separate families of Windows, and provide a more stable platform.
Showing posts with label Windows Xp Supp. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Windows Xp Supp. Show all posts
Thursday, December 2, 2010
Add More Locations Or Destinations To the Send To Menu
Disable the Automatic Desktop Cleanup in Windows XP
Windows XP includes the Desktop Cleanup Wizard, which keeps track of your usage of the icons on your desktop and periodically offers to remove the icons you have not recently used. Some of the icons are on the desktop because you created them to provide a shortcut method of opening a program or document. Some icons may be on the desktop because a software installation program placed them there.
The Desktop Cleanup Wizard runs every 60 days. It checks the last accessed date of the desktop shortcuts and displays a list of all the icons, with a check mark next to the name of each icon that has not been used in 60 days. You can deselect any icon you want to keep on the desktop, and the Wizard removes the selected icons.
The icons are not deleted, they are moved to a folder and you can put them back on the desktop if you want. The folder that is automatically created the first time the Wizard removes icons is C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Desktop\Unused Desktop Shortcuts.
Disable the Automatic Desktop Cleanup Feature. To stop the wizard from automatically running every 60 days:
1. Right-click a blank spot on the desktop, and then click Properties to open the Display Properties dialog box.
2. Click the Desktop tab.
3. Click Customize desktop to open the Desktop Items dialog box.
4. Click to clear the Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days check box.
5. Click OK twice to close the dialog boxes.
To run the Wizard manually, click Clean Desktop Now on the Desktop Items dialog box. You can perform a manual cleanup at any time, even if you have not disabled the wizard.
The Desktop Cleanup Wizard runs every 60 days. It checks the last accessed date of the desktop shortcuts and displays a list of all the icons, with a check mark next to the name of each icon that has not been used in 60 days. You can deselect any icon you want to keep on the desktop, and the Wizard removes the selected icons.
The icons are not deleted, they are moved to a folder and you can put them back on the desktop if you want. The folder that is automatically created the first time the Wizard removes icons is C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\Desktop\Unused Desktop Shortcuts.
Disable the Automatic Desktop Cleanup Feature. To stop the wizard from automatically running every 60 days:
1. Right-click a blank spot on the desktop, and then click Properties to open the Display Properties dialog box.
2. Click the Desktop tab.
3. Click Customize desktop to open the Desktop Items dialog box.
4. Click to clear the Run Desktop Cleanup Wizard every 60 days check box.
5. Click OK twice to close the dialog boxes.
To run the Wizard manually, click Clean Desktop Now on the Desktop Items dialog box. You can perform a manual cleanup at any time, even if you have not disabled the wizard.
Monday, November 29, 2010
How To Use System File Checker Tool In Windows XP
Windows XP has the ability to protect itself from system instability caused by 3rd party software overwriting important system files.
In Windows XP we have more refined protection of these important files.
Windows File Protection
By default, Windows File Protection is always enabled and allows Windows digitally signed files to replace existing files safely. Currently, signed files are distributed through:
1. Windows Service Packs
2. Hotfix distributions
3. Operating system upgrades
4. Windows Update
5. Windows Device Manager
The main reason for using this utility is when you suspect there may be a problem with a Windows XP system file.
Perhaps you get a dialog box appear informing you of a problem with a .dll file, or your program will just not load! It is therefore worth checking to see if there are any corrupt system files using sfc scannow.
To do this simply go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:
sfc /scannow
This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files which has a problem.
The following should appear to give an indication of how long the process is taking.
When does this happen?
In Windows XP we have more refined protection of these important files.
Windows File Protection
By default, Windows File Protection is always enabled and allows Windows digitally signed files to replace existing files safely. Currently, signed files are distributed through:
1. Windows Service Packs
2. Hotfix distributions
3. Operating system upgrades
4. Windows Update
5. Windows Device Manager
The main reason for using this utility is when you suspect there may be a problem with a Windows XP system file.
Perhaps you get a dialog box appear informing you of a problem with a .dll file, or your program will just not load! It is therefore worth checking to see if there are any corrupt system files using sfc scannow.
To do this simply go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:
sfc /scannow
This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files which has a problem.
The following should appear to give an indication of how long the process is taking.
Any corrupt, missing or incorrect files would be replaced by this process. The most common issue with scannow sfc is the following dialog box appearing:
In the computer's operating system registry, are several settings that are checked when you run scannow sfc.
The Windows File Protection service constantly monitors for any changes to the main system files.
Well Windows XP keeps a cache (copy) of these essential files at the following location:
C:WINDOWS\System32\Dllcache (assuming C: is your system root)
The dllcache folder is extremely important so Windows XP hides it from you! To view it go to:
My Computer--> Tools--> Folder Options--> View--> "uncheck" Hide protected operating system files.
If that's the case on your computer then there is normally no need for the original XP CD to be inserted as your computer has a "copy" it can get hold of in this cache.
But, if the Dllcache folder, or part of it, has become corrupted for some reason then you will be prompted for the XP CD - so your computer can get a clean copy.
Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Identify Encrypted Files
You can use the Encrypting File System (EFS) in Windows XP for drives that have formatted to use NTFS. EFS provides a way to hide file content from other users. Many users, especially those who use laptops that are vulnerable to unrestricted access or even theft, need to encrypt data files that hold confidential or sensitive data.
You can use the below method to identify encrypted files: Change the Color of the File Listing for Encrypted Files
To change the color of the file listing for encrypted files:
1. Double-click My Computer, and then click Folder Options on the Tools menu.
2. Click the View tab.
3. Click to select the Show encrypted or compressed NTFS files in color check box, and then click OK.
You can use the below method to identify encrypted files: Change the Color of the File Listing for Encrypted Files
To change the color of the file listing for encrypted files:
1. Double-click My Computer, and then click Folder Options on the Tools menu.
2. Click the View tab.
3. Click to select the Show encrypted or compressed NTFS files in color check box, and then click OK.
Monday, November 15, 2010
Send A File While On A Remote Assistance Session
During a Remote Assistance session, you can send files from your computer to the remote computer. For example, you may send a file that is needed to fix a problem on the remote computer. This requires action by both parties, the helper who sends the file and the requestor who must accept it and save it.
To send a file when helping someone via Remote Assistance:
1. In the chat dialog box, click Send a File, and then type the file path or click Browse and choose the file that you want to send.
2. Select the file and click Send File.
To send a file when helping someone via Remote Assistance:
1. In the chat dialog box, click Send a File, and then type the file path or click Browse and choose the file that you want to send.
2. Select the file and click Send File.
Thursday, November 11, 2010
Disable Fast User Switching
Fast User Switching is a way for users to quickly switch between accounts without having to fully log off. This is just one more service that doesn’t really need to be started.If its only one single User using the Computer.
Follow the steps below to disable this service.
Follow the steps below to disable this service.
- Click On Start--> Run--> Type 'services.msc'(Without the quotes)-->On The Right Pane Of The Window Select Fast User Switching--> Double Click On It-->Change Startup Type To Disable--> Click On Stop Button If The Service Is Already Running
- Screenshots Have Been Show Below.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)